Products vs. Services

November 12, 2006

I’m a regular reader of Rod Drury’s blog.

In his post titled Where are the Developers?, reader Craig submits the following comment:

Why are NZ developers stuck in their crappy services jobs and not wanting to do product?

I totally agree.

Product = Ownership and pride. A real chance to make a difference. A real chance to bring your baby up to be the next Prime Minister. Taking a concept from thought to reality. Thinking clever. Passion.

Services = Costs + 20%. Bums on seats. Language translation. Same most of the time. 9 to 5.

I’ve been lucky enough to experience both sides of the coin, and there’s no way I’d ever go down the services path again.

For those in services, get out of your comfort zone and try something fresh.

One Response to “Products vs. Services”

  1. Craig Says:

    It’s cool to be quoted! 🙂 I’m also one that has been on both sides – I enjoyed my time in the services industry and for younger developers it’s a great place to learn about building solutions as opposed to just building technology (I’m a big believer in taking pragmatic approaches to problems).

    However there is nothing like building product – I’ve been doing it for 6 years now and there is something extremely satisfying about building something and then selling it (bespoke development never thrilled me in the way product has – completing a project is not the same as completing and releasing a product).

    Anyway – it’s an interesting discussion – I hope for NZ’s sake that more developers take the plunge into product development – NZ’s knowledge economy depends on it!

    Craig


Leave a Reply

