The iPhone: My Thoughts

January 15, 2007

iPhoneMy Oh My!  Has there been debate over this sexy little monster, the Apple iPhone, or what?

I downloaded the Macworld Keynote Address on video podcast and this gave a real good overview as to the capabilities of this device.  You’ve likely heard most of my comments echoed by others, but here goes anyway.  In no particular order:

  • It is very sexy indeed
  • I am festiduous in keeping my video iPod clean, this iPhone is gonna tip me over the edge – remember I don’t touch the screen of my video iPod!
  • Lack of 3G is a bit disappointing, but then 3G in NZ is so bloody expensive anyway does this really matter?  After all, the size of a general email is small.
  • 4GB or 8GB won’t make this thing big enough for my insatiable appetite for music and video – therefore until this changes it will not eliminate a device.  I used to have a 4GB iPod mini, and I soon learnt that wasn’t enough.
  • It only syncs with Exchange if you have enabled IMAP (which most businesses do not) – so that might alienate some of the business community who provide Telecom and Vodafone 3G devices to their staff on mass.
  • The visual voicemail is a bit of a wanky term, but the idea is great.  However, we have to hope that Vodafone (and Telecom should the iPhone ever do CDMA), play ball.  Else it’s crap.
  • Google Maps is great but boy does it chew bandwidth (I’ve tried it on the Palm and hit my 3G limit after 5 minutes!)
  • The way you resize photos is simply astounding.  Beautifully simple.
  • The SMS text conversation is just.. erm.. obvious
  • Shame it’s a closed platform.  Kind of.  You’ll still be able to buy official Apple software for it (a la iPod games)
  • Who gives a shit what it’s called?

To summarise, there’s been so much debate on this thing it is not funny.

It IS a wonderful device, and it IS a step above everything else currently out there.  Just download the keynote and watch it.  You’ll go “Wow, it’s kinda cool!’.  If I had a dollar for everytime Monsieur Jobs said that.

One thing is for certain, I will end up buying one.  Why?  Because it’s just so bloody sexy.

2 Responses to “The iPhone: My Thoughts”

  1. Yapman Says:

    Nice relief to see some non-negative comments on the device for a change. Kept browsing and browsing, and saw nothing but negative comments for the gadget. Its like its always cool to hit on the big guys, and side with the underdog (even if its utter crapo) lol.

    Not that I’m a fan of Apple or anything, I think they suck for not making it a worldwide release ;P.

  2. Shaneo Says:

    I got a demo the other day in the Palo Alto Apple store of the iPhone. It really is seriously cool. I was surprised how compact it is – for some reason I was expecting something chunkier.

    While my analysis is not as comprehensive as that above, the only downside I noticed is the narrow touch keys for texting. Given the NZ popensity for texting, this would need to improved for more uptake.

    By the way, the stores atmosphere had a real buzz to it with the cash registers ticking over. Apple are certainly onto somthing at the moment.


Leave a Reply

