Productivity: Mac vs PC

May 3, 2007

MacVSPCOkay.  I’m probably spark some controversy here.  Or at least amongst the Mac fanboys.

I’ve now been using Macs for over well over six months, and have recently started to use one for our new business.

Here’s what I think.

Window Mayhem.  Even with all the flashy dashboard and expose stuff, I still find myself feeling really cluttered when I have lots of windows open on the Mac.  I don’t know what it is, but I can have twice as many windows open on my PC and I still don’t get bogged down.

Quicksilver Rocks.  I’ve mentioned this before, but Quicksilver truly adds a productive edge to finding, launching and processing common files and applications.  ENSO is pretty good for windows, but only as a launcher.

Office beats OpenOffice (or NeoOffice).  No matter what you say, for anything other than the simplest docs and spreadsheets, Microsoft Office still kicks ass.   I find the windows version easier to use, but perhaps that’s years of conditioning.  Given that the Office for Mac roadmap is not clear, this could play a major factor with Macs in the workplace.

Web Development.  I find web development on either the Mac or the PC to be about the same.  PSPad is my trusty editor on windows, TextMate for the Mac.  Both good.  One pain in the arse is that Microsoft have discontinued IE on the Mac.  So you still need a PC for testing no matter what.

Filesystem Navigation.  The windows explorer interface wins hands down over the Mac finder for productivity.  I watch others use their Macs and often see them struggle as well.  So it’s not just daft me.

Searching.  Spotlight and Quicksilver combine to forge a very power search capability on the Mac.  This more than makes up for the poor finder app.

Multimedia.  No surprise here then.  I really do find Macs come into their own when it comes to music, video, images, dvds, etc.  Although I have to admit, I am still struggling to find a good quick and dirty image editor to rival my golden oldie version of PaintShopPro4 (yes 4)

Overall.  To be honest, I’m probably more productive on a PC at the moment.   But I enjoy using my Mac a lot more.  I think it for me that it boils down to over ten years of using a PC and learning all the lifehacks that make life so much easier.  I’m getting there with the Mac.  But I still think it will be a while.

The ads hold true – for true “office” work I think PCs really do excel.  The same goes for Macs and multimedia.

Maybe it’s time for Parallels.

One Response to “Productivity: Mac vs PC”

  1. Nic Wise Says:

    I found it similar. Kinda.

    1. the mac’s lack of full screen mode for windows makes it harder for me to do stuff. Expose helps a LOT.

    2. I got MS office for Mac. I never use it (almost). The google online thing works for most of what I want to do. OpenOffice, last time I used it, is pox.

    3. I’m also still looking for a good quick image editor. Photoshop isn’t quick, but it’s good. I’m STILL looking

    I use my macbook for personal stuff, and a Lenovo T60p for work. they are about the same spec, but the mac FEELS quicker…. Like you, I enjoy using macos – windows not so much.

    Oh, and Parallels rocks. VMWare are doing something in that space, too.


Leave a Reply

