Unsung Heroes

June 29, 2007

According to Wikipedia, emigration is “the act and the phenomenon of leaving one’s native country to settle in another country”.

Having being a “Pom” (Prisoner of Mother England, apparently) living in New Zealand for the last 10 years, I often get asked “are you here for good?”

I think that New Zealand is a wonderful place and I think I will always have a base here, but the kind of people my family and I are (well, at least my wife and I), we always want to broaden our horizons and see what this wonderful planet of ours has to offer. It would be a shame not to. Emigration is not in my vocabulary.

But that’s me.

For every person I know like myself there are as many that are as content to stay in the same place, doing the same job, drinking the same beer at the same pub, in the same seat. They’re as happy as me. If not more. And happiness is a good benchmark of success. The world needs both types of people (plus more). It’s a kinda Ying and Yang thing.

You have to respect that.

An organisation cannot live with rock stars alone. It needs the steady eddies to keep the “lights on”.

So often these people are overlooked, and they shouldn’t be. They are often the foundation of your organisation. Rarely noticed, but when they’re not there the whole house starts falling to pieces.

Please. Don’t forget them. They’re the unsung heroes.

Leave a Reply

