Am I a Criminal?

July 21, 2007

I’m up here at my Mum and Dad’s at the moment, and I think it’s fair to say that they’re not the most technologically advanced.

In other words, they don’t have an internet connection.  They don’t even know what t’internet is.

So I fire up my airport connection to see if there are any hotspots around.  Nope.  But my Macbook tells me I can connect to a 3com network (the other one – a Netgear wireless connection needed a WEP key).

It’s a surprise that there are so many unsecured wireless networks.  I popped up to my sisters the other day – she told me her next door neighbour had had an open connection for months!

So do you “use” the free connection or not?

I’m blogging aren’t I?    Indeed, I’m using someone elses unsecured wireless network.

Does this make me a fraudster?

4 Responses to “Am I a Criminal?”

  1. benkepes Says:

    no just taking advantage of availabilities – think of it as providing someone a security audit inspection service!

  2. Martha Says:

    My wireless is unsecured, it is my way of sharing the joy (plus I know none of my neighbours need it). I think unsecred wireless is a little like peer sharing – go for it.

  3. The Dawes Says:

    How very dare you?!

    It nearly burned Sarah’s fingers to write on a ‘stolen’ line. Shame on you!

    🙂

  4. Brenda Says:

    nah, this is the joy of uncapped internet plans! too frightening to do it in nz purely because you (or whoever is tapping your connection) would use up your data limit 🙂 if it’s not impacting the person whose account it is, then why not!?


Leave a Reply

