Balls. Line. On.

October 22, 2007

I’d previously posted about my experiences in starting up our new business, which is going terrifically well.

I’d mentioned that flexibility kicks ass, and it really does.  But the last few weeks I’ve been experiencing another side.  And it’s one you rarely experience as a corporate “employee”.

We’ve got a couple of important project deadlines in the pipeline, and when you have a vested interest in them (i.e. it IS your business) you kinda treat things a bit differently.   You simply cannot afford to drop the ball.  As a startup business, your balls are well and truly on the line.  So we’ve been working a few ‘late ones’ to make sure everything goes real smooth.  That’s why I’ve been “dark” for the last couple of weeks.  It’s all progressing really well though, so we’re very confident all will go very well.

Startup businesses are great fun, and immensely rewarding, but remember that they need a lot of bloody hard work and commitment.   But it’s de facto.  Whilst I’m working real hard, I’ve never enjoyed it more.

I’ve had a fantastic Labour weekend with my family – my weekends and public holidays are sacred (and you should never sacrifice your family time),  but first thing tomorrow morning it’s straight back into it.

The coffee shop will be happy to see me.

One Response to “Balls. Line. On.”


  1. […] 31, 2008 I’ve mentioned a few times now how hard you have to work when you set up a new business.  So it stands to reason that you really have to plan your day and […]


Leave a Reply

