Browser Gmail vs Mail.app

June 12, 2008

Now that we’ve got our own offices, and I’m free of the super restricted corporate firewall we we’re previously (and kindly) bludgeoning off, I was really excited at the prospect of using GMail’s IMAP capabilities and finally being able to use Mail.app.

One word.  Disappointed.

Pluses for IMAP and using Mail.app:

  • I can work offline
  • Creating mail is faster
  • I can haz decent signatures
Pluses for staying with the GMail web browser:
  • it’s instant
  • I can easily tag (Google call this “label”) messages
  • no mucking about with syncing
  • it’s not restricted by IMAP locked down firewalls
  • great search functionality across my whole mailbox
I have tried and tried and tried and tried to persevere with Mail.app and IMAP, but no matter how hard I try I still gravitate back towards browser based Gmail.
Am I missing something here?
Are there some uber-tips and uber-features I just haven’t seen?
At this stage, Gmail through the web browser wins hands down.
8 Responses to “Browser Gmail vs Mail.app”

  1. Nic Wise Says:

    I thought about doing the same, and the offline-ness was the only thing which won for me – but to be honest, I’m ALWAYS close enough to an internet connection to be able to use it. If I need to compose something, textmate or textedit works just fine.

    gmail just works for me. No need to change.

  2. Ben Kepes Says:

    I’m with both Dan and Nic – I imap my Gmail but never use it. (fact is Outlook is only there as a go between to allow syncing from my symbian phone to gcal.

    Gears for gmail will have it all sorted soon anyway…

  3. Dan Says:

    I believe that makes it 3-0.

    Bring on Gears.

  4. Jay Greasley Says:

    I love gmail. I am using it in an SSB thanks to the wonders of http://fluidapp.com/ until Gears arrives….


  5. My fellow on Facebook shared this link with me and I’m not dissapointed at all that I came here.

  6. Shayla Wassman Says:

    Please, can you PM me and tell me few more thinks about this, I am really fan of your blog…

  7. Scot Hacker Says:

    Lots of discussion on this, and many usability points on Mail.app vs. GMail here.

    Upshot: I came to exactly the opposite conclusion, and reader comments were roughly split, with the majority coming down on the side of Mail.app.


Leave a Reply

