The Mobile Web

December 20, 2006

google mobileI must look like a right tosser on the bus home from work, continually fiddling with my HTC Apache surfing the mobile web and reading my offline websites.  Hey, I can even check-in with my works mobile “operational dashboard” (lifesaver!). I don’t care though. I’m doing work, keeping vigilant, and keeping up to speed with the million and one things you need to nowadays. And I’d look like an even bigger tosser if I had a laptop (not to mention a burnt lap).

Here’s what I use to help give me info the go:

AvantGo: Read your favourite AvantGo channels either on the go or synchronise them for offline reading. Limited range of channels, and better to sync before you leave for the bus. I currently sync 8MB of guff.

Google Mobile: I get my personalised home on my cellphone, which includes Google Reader and GMail. What’s even better is that if you link to an external site, Google automatically reformats it in a mobile friendly version – it’s better than Opera mini. You need to be “connected” though so watch those data charges.

VadeMecum: Brilliant and obscure little app that lets you read Plucker documents that you can easily create with SunriseXP. Awesome! I synch up all my favourites before I leave! Creating Passionate Users to go! Read/Write Web to go! Burnley FC to go!

And then for tunes on the go, forget about using Windows Media Mobile – the sound quality is utter sh*te. Try using GSPlayer instead.

Big tip: don’t miss your stop!

2 Responses to “The Mobile Web”


  1. I feel this is one of the most vital info for me.
    And i am satisfied reading your article. But should remark on some
    common issues, The web site taste is perfect, the articles is really excellent : D.

    Excellent task, cheers

  2. earn online Says:

    Magnificent beat ! I would like to apprentice even as
    you amend your site, how could i subscribe for a weblog website?
    The account helped me a appropriate deal. I have
    been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered vivid clear
    idea


Leave a comment